A.III.c.1 Protected Area Management CY 2012



 Ø Establishment/Disestablishment of Protected Areas (PAs)

         ●   Establishment of PA

The target protected areas (PAs) for establishment in 2012 are Alabat Watershed Forest reserve (AWFR), Binahaan River Watershed Forest Reserve (BRWFR) and Presidential Proclamation 1636 (PP 1636).

The Completed Staff Works (CSWs) for the three (3) NIPAS initial components were submitted to the Central Office forfurther evaluation of the National NIPAS Review Committee. Contained in the CSWs are the accomplished required steps and recommendation prior to the PA establishment as stipulated in Republic Act no. 7586 or the NIPAS Act and its Implementing Rules and Regulations (IRR) – DENR Administrative Order no. 2008-26.

Preparation and Submission of Draft Presidential Proclamation and PA Bills

Draft Protected Area Bills of Mts. Palay-palay/Mataas na Gulod Protected Landscape (MPPMNGPL), Quezon Protected Landscape (QPL), Buenavista Protected Landscape (BPL) and Pamitinan Protected Landscape (PPL) were submitted by the concerned Protected Area Superintendents (PASus) duly endorsed by their PENROs and CENROs.


           Demarcation of Protected Areas

For. Ramil R. Limpiada of the Regional Assessment and Delineation Team (RADT) presented during the TVPL capacity building held on 15 November 2012, that they have a target of 14 boundary corners to be located having a total of 55 kilometers of area perimeter.

Based on the initial report of RADT on the delineation and demarcation of TVPL per Proclamation no. 923 dated November 19, 1996, a total of 75.65 kilometers along the TVPL boundary were delineated exceeding the 55-kilometer target. Nine (9) out of fourteen (14) concrete monuments having 20 x 20 x 90 cm dimension were established while the remaining five (5) corners were just documented due to refusal of some lot/land owners.